Traveler of the Month: Monika

I’d like to introduce my new series, Traveler of the Week. It is my belief that as our world advances technologically, we are drifting further and further apart from each other as humans. I can’t help but feel that in our society as a whole there is a perpetual disconnect, and we are slowly beginning to forget how incredible and captivating people are. We must look beyond the surface of physicality, race, city of origin, Facebook profiles and Twitter statuses, etc. In an attempt to bridge the gap between us, I have decided to start this series along with a Local of the Week and Expat of the Week series. I hope that through these interviews my readers and those that I interview will be reminded of the excitement of truly connecting to a person. If there are questions you would like to propose feel free to leave them in the comments section. Taking my own goal to heart, all interviews I do are done in person, face to face, heart to heart. Also note that some interviews may appear inconclusive, as if some questions were not fully answered. Most likely this is the case. As we are all continually growing and changing, I prefer to keep the interviews this way and I believe that it speaks to the person’s character. Perhaps they themselves are still mulling over their answers. I leave it up to the reader’s to read in between the lines, and I only hope that I can do my best in accurately capturing the essence of the person.

Monika

Where have you traveled? What’s your favorite place?

I have lived in Morocco and Poland, and traveled to Thailand, the Bahamas, France, the USA, Canada, Dominican Republic, France, Spain, Greece and Costa Rica.

Thailand is my favorite place because it is different from America and Europe. I learned a lot about Buddhism, as well as conservation and how tourism affects animals. It’s a diverse country, Bangkok is nuts. You can tour tiny islands or be in a city. You can see ancient temples then have great street food. And massages were cheap and ample.

What’s your biggest dream?

To have a successful business related to travel or that would allow me to travel.

What’s your biggest challenge?

I’m not a risk taker and this may impede my business dream.

But you’re traveling and living in Spain now…

Yes, but I have been planning Spain for a couple of years. It was a calculated risk. I made sure that I had no loose ends before I left.

What hooked you on to travel?

I realized how big the world is.

How do you identify?

I identify as Canadian because I went through the whole education system there. But the variety in my background makes me adaptable. I just want to be who I am at this present moment.

What do you hope to gain out of this year in Spain?

I don’t want to be so concerned about defining myself based on material or egotistical things. I was heading in that direction in Toronto.

Tell me a random fun fact about yourself.

I still talk aloud to myself in the English in the grocery store…and it usually involves cursing.

Leave a Reply

