Who Is Buddhing Traveler?

Revisiting the original purpose of my blog…phew. I’m grateful for the task because I can’t help but feel that it’s overdue for me to re-look at things, though I honestly have no idea where to even begin.

I started this blog after spending a couple of years on Blogger. I was about to embark on my first move overseas and wanted to start a  brand new blog, representative of the brand new waters I was sailing into. My original intent in blogging has and I feel always will be, to share my stories with the hopes of inspiring my readers to write their own stories. Though plenty of people have travel blogs, and entering the expat world isn’t necessarily a new and revolutionary idea, I hope that by writing about the internal revelations and ups and downs that I experience throughout my travels, my readers can relate and feel free to share what they’re experiencing as well. Normally we think of traveling as something exotic and romantic, but the truth is, it’s quite hard. I want to always be as honest as possible when I write and share all sides of travel and life abroad.

I’ve decided to create the name Buddhing Traveler because my practice of Nichiren Buddhism is a very important aspect of my life. It is a practice that helps steady me as I journey on these rocky waters of solitude, loneliness, adventure and what we call human revolution, or internal growth. Attaining enlightenment is a journey in and of itself, and just as I am budding in my practice, I am also budding in my identity as a traveler and expat.

As for the goals of my blog the main one really is to simply write more frequently. Last year my posts dwindled down to one a month if that, as I got caught up in traveling and other things. But, as I’m sure other writers can relate, writing has a way of helping you to navigate life, and I find this especially true when I finally return to my laptop and journals. So for me, successful blogging this year means a lot more posts, and, though it’s not always about the numbers, a lot more followers. A secret wish I’m sure we all have is to also have a post featured on WordPress. I also hope to have at least one piece of writing published on another blogging site (don’t have one in mind, but I had a post published on DIWYY, a travel site for young women, a couple of years ago and I ran all around my house shouting that I was a published writer, so that thrill would be nice to experience again!

What’s funny is that the timing of starting this Blogging 101 course is similar to the stage I find myself entering this year: re-visiting who I am, as I feel that it’s something that I’ve lost grasp of in the whirlwind of plane rides and road trips. So, for those of you who are visiting my blog for the first time, thanks for stopping by and I hope you will join me on my journey and share about yours!

“Live with a dancing spirit. The stars in the heavens are dancing through space, the earth never ceases to spin. All life is dancing: the trees with the wind, the waves of the sea, the birds, the fish, all are performing their own dance of life. Every living thing is dancing, and you must keep dancing too, for the rest of your life!” -Daisaku Ikeda, Buddhism Day by Day, p394

Leave a Reply

