Traveler of the Month: Kara

compass-vintage-map-10622581Coming right on the heels of my January interview with Mandie that I managed to squeeze in in the nick of time, please enjoy reading about February’s traveler, Kara.

Why do you enjoy traveling?

I enjoy just putting myself out of my comfort zone. I enjoy being forced to make friends and getting to know people that I might not normally get to know. Seeing places and being able to say yea I saw that is a fun part, but just being forced out of my comfort zone is the biggest one. I really enjoy trying new things. It’s easy for me to get stuck in the same old instead of trying new things, and I think when you meet new people it’s easier to get outside of the box.

What is the hardest part about traveling?

When traveling long term the hardest part is saying goodbye to people. Knowing you’re going to miss things, weddings and funerals. When I studied abroad I missed my grandmother’s funeral. It weighs on my mind when I go to New Zealand next year because I can’t just hop on a plane and go home.

What’s your favorite place that you’ve been to?

New Zealand. Because I did so many things that pushed me out of my comfort zone and that’s so accepted there. The people are so kind and welcoming. And the landscape is amazing. Everywhere you look you see mountains, beaches, glaciers, forests, the sheep. The closest I’ve found to that is Switzerland, but I don’t think it’s the same people-wise.

How do you identify?

I would say I’m not figured out yet. I feel like I’m very influenced by the people around me. Whether it be language, the way of speaking, the way of acting, my interests. I think it very much is influenced by the people around me. I know some things that I’m interested in, but based on who I’m around I partake in them more or less than if I were by myself. I wouldn’t say I’m particularly comfortable as a solo person. I don’t do well with being alone. I like sharing moments with people. If you eat great food or see a great site, if you have someone to share it with…

What is your biggest dream?

I think it would be being able to look back and know that I did everything that I wanted to and that nothing held me back whether its people’s opinions or my own opinions. Not missing an opportunity because of something.

What is your biggest challenge?

The challenge for me is to be selfish but to know when it’s crossing the line of being selfish for a good reason and being too selfish. Traveling is great, but family is important. Figuring out when you can put yourself first and when you put others first. Sometimes I get caught up in what I want to do and where I want to go next instead of thinking that I should be there for someone else.

What are you goals for your remaining time here in Spain?

I definitely want to work on my Spanish. I’ ve gotten to a comfortable level of Spanish. It’s a shame because for how long I’ve been here my Spanish should be a lot better.  I really want to learn how to surf properly. That’s on the list of goals. As well as take advantage of having my own kitchen and being on my own schedule because when I go home I’m going to be there for 3 or 4 months. Cooking as I please, eating when I’m hungry. Just that individual time. Not being accountable to anyone. Taking advantage of that while it lasts.

Tell me random fact about yourself.

I made my junior prom dress.

_____________________________________

About the Traveler of the Month Series:

 It is my belief that as our world advances technologically, we are drifting further and further apart from each other as humans. I can’t help but feel that in our society as a whole there is a perpetual disconnect, and we are slowly beginning to forget how incredible and captivating people are. We must look beyond the surface of physicality, race, city of origin, Facebook profiles and Twitter statuses, etc. I hope that through these interviews my readers and those that I interview will be reminded of the excitement of truly connecting to a person. If there are questions you would like to propose feel free to leave them in the comments section. Taking my own goal to heart, all interviews I do are done in person, face to face, heart to heart. Also note that some interviews may appear inconclusive, as if some questions were not fully answered. Most likely this is the case. As we are all continually growing and changing, I prefer to keep the interviews this way and I believe that it speaks to the person’s character. Perhaps they themselves are still mulling over their answers. I only hope that I can do my best in accurately capturing the essence of the person I interview.

One thought on “Traveler of the Month: Kara

Leave a Reply

