Traveler of the Month: Kate

compass-vintage-map-10622581Why do you enjoy traveling?

I enjoy traveling because it gives you a different perspective on life. You meet new people from all over the world and it teaches you things. For example, I now have friends from all over the world. It forces you to push yourself out of your comfort zone. You have to do things on your own that you wouldn’t normally do. I guess it’s fun. It’s fun to explore new places, new cities. It’s quite addictive. I’m talking about traveling more in the sense of traveling and living in a place.

What is the hardest part about traveling?

Two things. One thing is leaving behind your friends and family but also getting left behind in their lives. Obviously life moves on. People get engaged, have babies, and you miss these things because you’re not there. Another thing is that you meet people and it’s great but it’s always temporary. It’s great because you have these new places to visit. But with that friend you have to make a real effort because you now no longer live in the same place. I’d love to have all my friends with me all the time and take them with me. I’d say that’s the hardest part of traveling – the relationships that you sacrifice.

What’s your favorite place that you’ve been to?

That’s difficult. Probably at the moment, I’d say Lisbon because I’ve just come back from there and I loved it. Everyone told me I would love it but I didn’t think it was going to be that great and I went and I loved it. I can’t explain exactly what it was – it was kind of old world. The buildings are beautiful. There are beautiful views. It’s cheap. And the Portugese people are so friendly. I met my best friend from Paris there, so that obviously made it a great weekend because we hadn’t seen each other in a long time. One of my other favorite places is the west of Ireland. It has beautiful views. My family lived there and I was there a lot growing up.

How do you identify?

I’m someone who is still searching for what it is in life that makes them truly happy. I’m happy now, but I feel that there’s still a lot of things that I need to get in place. I’m someone who quite likes to have plans. I’m not a big fan of being lost. I feel rudderless, like I’m not quite sure where I’m going. Sometimes I try to embrace this. I love traveling and languages, that’s a massive part of who I am. I feel most happy when I’m speaking another language. But I still am searching for something more right now. There’s a little bit missing. I can’t quite put my finger on what it is. I’m hoping I’ll find it soon. But that’s just what being in your 20’s is about- discovering who you are.

What is your biggest dream?

Well just coming off the back of what I just said – it’s to be happy. To find something that truly makes me happy. I would love to find that in my career. I’d love to find something that I’d love to do everyday. I remember a quote that says if you do what you love, you never have to work a day in your life. I’d love to immerse myself in a job in a country where I’d love to live. My dream would be to be happy. Hopefully that means with somebody, and I’d build a life for myself.

What is your biggest challenge?

My biggest challenge is being too hard on myself. My challenge is to stop doing that. I have to stop beating myself up about things. Another challenge is to live in the present – as a traveler, as a person. Especially as a traveler. You’re always wanting to plan the next trip and you forget to enjoy the here and now. Take Gijon, we live in a beautiful place by the sea, and though the weather isn’t always kind to us we have to enjoy that we’re here. A real challenge is to not look too far into the future.

What are you goals for your remaining time here in Spain?

My goals are to travel to a few more new regions. I’ve just booked flights to Valencia. I’d love to explore Galicia and also Asturias. I’d love to explore what’s on our doorstep. Another goal would be to keep up my Spanish and get it even better – to perfect it really. It’s hard because our job entails teaching English. I definitely want to make sure that my Spanish is at a great level and that I don’t go home having lost it.

Tell me a random fact about yourself.

When I was a child I had two imaginary friends. They were called Topsy and Michael. I don’t know where they came from. Then Donal came. My mom would have to set the table for them. I had them for a while, almost two years. Then they just disappeared one day. My mom asked me where they were and I just said that they went away.


About the Traveler of the Month Series:

 It is my belief that as our world advances technologically, we are drifting further and further apart from each other as humans. I can’t help but feel that in our society as a whole there is a perpetual disconnect, and we are slowly beginning to forget how incredible and captivating people are. We must look beyond the surface of physicality, race, city of origin, Facebook profiles and Twitter statuses, etc. I hope that through these interviews my readers and those that I interview will be reminded of the excitement of truly connecting to a person. If there are questions you would like to propose feel free to leave them in the comments section. Taking my own goal to heart, all interviews I do are done in person, face to face, heart to heart. Also note that some interviews may appear inconclusive, as if some questions were not fully answered. Most likely this is the case. As we are all continually growing and changing, I prefer to keep the interviews this way and I believe that it speaks to the person’s character. Perhaps they themselves are still mulling over their answers. I only hope that I can do my best in accurately capturing the essence of the person I interview.

Leave a Reply

